fish!
fish!
2002-07-16
11:37 a.m.
Not these towels...they're just for show

My father is 8749.26% goofy.

Yesterday, I finally called him to tell him the news that I would be moving in 2 weeks and that Matt and I would stop by on Saturday morning to pick up his living room furniture. Knowing that he would freak out about this and think that my mother and stepfather would be there, too, I made it exceptionally clear to him over the phone that it would only be Matt and myself. (By the way, does anyone have a video camera? Somehow I think that two kids with such buff physiques as ourselves trying to manipulate an entire living room suit is going to be damn comical).

Actually, I left a message. Dad's never home these days. He either studies more than anyone in history or he's got one hell of a social life.

Anyway, I got this email response from him that made me fall out of my chair from laughing so hard.

Remember how, when you were first learning how to write an essay, they taught you in school that the first paragraph is for the thesis of the piece, then briefly state three supporting pieces of evidence for your point of view, and then on the three subsequent paragraphs you elaborate on each thought, and your 5th and final paragraph is for summary and conclusions?

This is the way the email was composed.

Point: I do not want your mother and stepfather in my apartment.

Evidence: 1) I do not know your stepfather and I don't want him in my apartment...2) My apartment is small and I don't want them to make fun of me...3) They're going to go through my things and steal stuff.

Conclusion: To summarize, I don't want them in my apartment for the aforementioned reasons. Thank you for your cooperation.

Jesus...and you people wonder why I'm so neurotic.

In other news, I'm never buying new towels again. Perhaps I should take a lint brush to my new, soft, Target towels. I washed them several times, and STILL when I got out of the shower this morning, and dried myself off with them, I managed to cover myself from head to toe with blue fuzz.

Oh, but they're SOOOOO soft.

Maybe they'll be "just for show," as my mom likes to say. See, they go with the decor of my bathroom so well.

If anybody finds any fun haircuts, feel free to pass them along to me! I'm still searching for my new look that is miraculously going to turn me into hot stuff.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23