fish!
fish!
2002-07-30
12:07 p.m.
Blue Pepsi...not so much

Because I am so on the ball, rather than unpack last night, I watched movies.

And slept. Boy, did I sleep.

Not that there's anything wrong with napping until 9:30 at night; just don't expect that your body will want to actually go to bed and let you enter a peaceful stage 4 sleep at your regular bedtime.

I did finally watch "Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas" again, which I have been meaning to do for several months. It's just a damn good movie. And it reminded me that I don't do enough mescaline.

I still have an apartment filled with boxes of clothes. Okay, well, really just a bedroom filled with boxes of clothes. My pledge to you is to finish tonight and then vacuum. Yes! Oh, like you care what I'm doing with my apartment.

Geez.

I'm drinking Blue Pepsi right now. It's the strangest nonsense I've ever put in my mouth. I will most likely not purchase it again. No siree, I will spend MY dollar on something tasty.

Extended time spent with my friends leads to the development of an inferiority complex. I mean, honestly, I'm starting to feel like I'm 5 years old again, running behind all of the older kids who used to come over to our house to hang out with my dad (I don't get it either - he used to be a youth minister and everyone LOVED him), wishing that they would think I was cool or funny. I spent the better part of my childhood trying so hard to impress everyone else, desperately yearning to be able to do something better than just ONE of them, so that they would be impressed with me.

See, I don't know if you are aware of this, but I have a sort of competitive nature (sarcastic comments regarding exactly HOW apparent this is in my everyday life are neither welcome nor appreciated), and lately I've been feeling like a few of the people I consider to be close friends do, literally, EVERYTHING better than I. You may think this is childish of me, but it's more about my fear that if I don't do something YOU admire, why would you want to hang out with me? Eventually the novelty of hanging around me will wear off and you'll go meet someone more fun.

Of course, the flip side of this is that if I feel like someone thinks I'm too grand, and starts emulating things I say or do, I get smothered and grumpy.

Becky and Casey came by to check out my little apartment yesterday, which made me quite happy. Visitors, yes! Next time you come over, I promise to have places for you kids to sit!

And I'm out. And I'm starving. Anyone want to come bake me some muffins?

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23