fish!
fish!
2002-08-12
11:02 a.m.
Atlanta...in a nutshell. Okay, it's a fucking huge nut.

I know, everyone's been checking d-land incessantly to see when I would update about going to Atlanta, right?

Well, you're gonna have to wait. Just a minute, though. Promise.

So. Let me tell you about people that are stupid. If your boyfriend smacks you at someone else's wedding reception, would you, even if you were the most codependent person on the planet, MARRY this loser? Just a question. Long story short, my friend Diggy is engaged. I'm sure that I should be making some big hoopla about this, but considering that I know firsthand about abusive relationships, being the child of one, and being the girlfriend in another, I want to fucking shake her.

Now, Atlanta. In list form, because I am lazy. Shit, not lazy. Sleepy.

1. Stuck in traffic for 3 hours. A trip that should've brought us into town somewhere around 12:30 instead led us on in somewhere around 3:30. Lots of footage of Stephanie and me cursing and flipping off every trucker in sight. Why? We were tired and there wasn't much else to do.

2. Hotel in the ghetto. Now, I was elated to discover that our hotel was, in fact, on Peachtree Street (Tonight she's out to lose herself, to find a high on Peachtree Street - sorry, little Johnny moment), BUT we hadn't even been in town for 10 minutes when I saw a naked man driving his car, a homeless man touching himself on the sidewalk, and another homeless person harassing us for money.

3. No parking in hotel. Oh, fine. Yes, I desperately want to leave my car next to the mass transit system overnight. No, I'm not kidding. Really. Please steal my radio.

4. Better mood - visit to the CNN center proved fruitful, as we were actually in the background of Talkback Live. My phone was ringing. Go me.

5. Elated mood - Mitch Hedburg was fucking INCREDIBLE. No other words for it. I laughed myself to tears, AND he hit me with his backpack on his way to the stage. Happy day! He's way skinnier in person.

6. Boo = $30 cab ride to the show + $32 cab ride home. Nobody wanted to go out to the gay bars after that. Sadness. Our cabbies were scary, too. They were both on their cell phones the whole time, flying around curves and zipping in and out of lanes on one-way streets, going the wrong direction. Mmmm, I feel safe.

7. Zoo. I took monkey pictures. For a city as large as Atlanta, you would think that the zoo would be quite impressive, but it was pretty small, actually. I think it was, maybe, a lion, a monkey, and a snake. The Bushmaster. Haha. I shouldn't be allowed around children. The one major redeeming quality was the Ben & Jerry's Ice Cream stand. Mmmm. Again. But in a different way.

8. Sunburn. True to form, I am burnt, with a giant diagonal white stripe across my back from where my purse sat. Honestly, with the dark eyebrows and hair, and my pasty white skin, I have come to the conclusion that it was Mother Nature's intention for me to be a goth chick. Too bad, I now have electric blonde hair.

9. MARTA. Marta gets a big thumbs-down in my book. This is the mass transit system of Metropolitan Atlanta. We didn't have any subway troubles, but once we transferred to the buses, this is where things got ugly. Basically, some cracked out bus driver told us to wait across the street from the actual bus stop, so a bus came whizzing past us, which we chased down the street. It didn't stop. In short, we had to wait another hour and a half for the next bus. Crack whore. That's all I can say about that.

10. Damn near pissed myself. 24-hour gay bar. I can't even expound on the greatness of this, except to say that I am now a quarterly member of the Backstreet Atlanta. Go me. Again.

11. Fun photo booth. I put my face on a background while at the bar. Now it looks like I was drunk in Italy. Fun!

12. Stuffed crust pizza at 2:00 in the morning may look like a good idea on paper, but the next morning is another story...I had severe abdominal distention the entire drive home. I passed out on the backseat of my car while Stephanie drove, arising just in time to hear "Oh, shit!" Thinking that we were about to be in a wreck, I bolted upright in my seat to see her flying across 6 lanes of traffic somewhere in Tennessee to get on the right expressway.

From now on, nobody drives my car but me.

So that's my trip in a nutshell. It was lots of fun, but I will say this: The differences between three girls are greatly exaggerated on vacation. In other words, if it had lasted any longer, I may have gone insane. I have returned with a greater appreciation for Lexington (read: I now feel safe walking around downtown late at night by myself) and I'm certainly refreshed. Gotta go back, though, and get my ass over to the mall and to the super bars.

Now I've gotta return to the 9 to 5 world. Let me say that I missed you all dearly and feel free to stop by while I still have snacks leftover from the trip!

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23