fish!
fish!
2002-08-29
9:31 a.m.
Fireworks extravaganza and I am NOT crazy

Dear K-Mart,

Look, I'm just as excited as you are about Joe Boxer now being among the names you carry, but...the guy dancing around in his underpants? Yeah, he's scaring me. Stop it.

Amanda - I'm going crazy because you're not around! What's the deal with your email already? Every time I try to write to you, it tells me your inbox is full. I need a hit of pirate booty already, goofball!

Yesterday, I was supposed to go to my research internship, but since my professor had to deal with a day full of first classes (and apparently in gerontology school there is no such thing as a syllabus day...sadness), I got the day off until my first class at 6. I slept until 10, made myself a REAL breakfast, put on a face mask, lit candles, and listened to music. I feel absofreakinglutely wonderful right now.

I like it when the professor tells you 3 times in 20 minutes that the class is going to be easy. And, surprises! Yay. I'm sitting in my little night class thinking I'm going to be surrounded with nothing but the likes of oversharing midget trolls and other such old folk when a buddy of mine from back at Highlands comes sauntering in. Happy day!

I would like to take this opportunity to point out that, contrary to what Jim-Bob believes, I do not shout "Happy Day" mid-orgasm. Just an aside.

Did I mention that I've had an uber-crush on this boy since I was 10 years old? He alone is the reason I got a C in physics my freshman year of high school.

I was getting ready to write about how my mother never calls me anymore, but she finally decided that she DOES know how to work a phone last night. Of course, the only reason she was calling was to tell me that my stepsisters are coming over this weekend to celebrate Katie's 21st birthday. Also, I get to meet some step-grandparents I've had for 4 1/2 years for the first time. What a splendid weekend I have ahead of me. Of course, this weekend IS the big fireworks extravaganza down on the river, which is this great tradition among my friends and myself. Basically, we get really drunk off of jell-o shots (one year we tried putting vodka in a watermelon, which didn't go over too well), call a cab, hit on the driver as much as possible, stumble down to the riverside, meet as many scary people as we can, and somehow make it home later. Miraculously, we always make it home. And we've never been arrested. Score.

I don't know that we've ever actually SEEN the fireworks either. Bah. Details.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23