fish!
fish!
2002-09-14
7:06 p.m.
Rubbing Salt on a Wound

If anyone ever tells me I'm rubbing salt in a wound, I'll know specifically just what they're trying to tell me.

I had to completely restock my refrigerator, so I went shopping today and bought a ridiculous amount of groceries. Anyway, I'm slicing tomatoes for my dinner tonight, and cut my pinky finger (incidentally, my favorite digit). Not 5 minutes later, I had already forgotten about my wound until I was putting salt into one of my shakers.

That is a pain I don't care to ever experience again.

One time when I was in middle school, I was running laps around the football field during gym class when, being as graceful as I am (and add to that the awkwardness of a twelve year old), I fell off the track and skinned up the entire outside of my leg. Gym was at the end of the day, so when my dad came to pick me up from school, I was still bleeding. His advice? Rubbing alcohol. I realize now, some 10 years later, that this was his sick sense of humour at work.

At twelve? I thought it was sound medical advice.

I've never screamed and hopped around in such a manner since that day. And my dad was rolling around on the floor, telling me I should've known better - it's PEROXIDE you put on a wound, dumbass.

I'm so emotionally scarred.

Tonight, they're showing Monty Python and the Holy Grail tonight at the Kentucky theater at midnight. I absolutely, positively, beyond reason, cannot wait.

Bring me a band-aid.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23