fish!
fish!
2002-10-08
9:29 a.m.
Wine me, dine me...

So, I'm still alive. Happy day. My day with my dad was as obnoxious as had anticipated; what frightened me more was the fact that my mom wasn't here for me to unwind with after going out. It's sort of a ritual these days that I'll go to dinner or something with my father and come home and spend the next couple of hours with my mom, as she tries to undo whatever he just did.

Last night, aside from getting a speech about the sorry state of my refrigerator (granted, there's little more in there than some leftover baked beans and a bottle of A1, but still), and my complete inability to live alone 90 miles from him, the most frustrating part of the whole night was his insisting that I was only having anxiety attacks because I don't talk to people about my problems. Is he kidding??!! First of all, I have ALWAYS been anxious...it's just how I'm wired. Second, and more importantly, I talk about what's going on to my friends more than anyone else I know! I have no secrets from you people.

Anyway, without my mom, I turned to my boys, who both were outstanding. I often joke about using them as "surrogate boyfriends," but in all honesty, they are wonderful, and I feel much less stressed today than I expected to.

Bah.

On the subject of boyfriends...apparently it does me no good to bitch to Matt about this; therefore I'm just gonna do it here. I need a date. Enough of this independent modern woman crap. I NEED a date. Do you know how long it's been since I actually had a "real date?" I'll tell ya. Never. Twenty-two years old and aside from being picked up for the occasional dance (which doesn't count), I've never had someone actually drive to where I live, come to my door, take me somewhere, offer to pay for SOMETHING (I'm not picky. Buy me a sticker or something. I'll happily pay for my food and/or ticket to a movie. Just buy me something, please!) and drop me off at the end of the night.

Am I asking for too much here?

Somebody take me out, already!

Now that THAT'S out of my system, I'm gonna return to the productive world of opening mail all day. Mlah.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23