fish!
fish!
2002-11-14
3:45 p.m.
What a swell day for me!

It's Thursday and I haven't done a damn thing. Being a slacker totally rocks. I don't care. I completely needed these past couple of days off.

I did actually manage to take a shower, and have been lying in the same position on my couch, wrapped up in a fleece blanket in a hooded sweatshirt and swishy pants since then, with no makeup on, and flat, air-dried hair, watching A Wedding Story. I'm officially one of those people I hate.

It's inspired one of my moments of self-loathing. I'm fully in agreement with comedienne Laura Kightlinger, when she talks about being alone during the holidays, and how there should be one last holiday right after Valentine's Day for all of the people who haven't yet gotten around to killing themselves called "Who Could Love You?"

I'm kidding, of course. Now I'll move on to the part of the entry everyone cares about, the John Mayer concert!

Wonderful. That's all I can say. Matt and I had an outstanding drive up there, just singing along to music and doing what we do best, which if you don't know, I can't really explain it to you. Finishing each other's sentences and relating everything to some obscure stand-up comedy reference, is the best way to explain it.

Of course, Cinnabon was had, which was lovely. Mullets were spotted, as they often are, a horrendous opening act was endured, and Johnny was...he was wonderful.

Lemme back up for a sec. The opening act...picture if you will, some guy playing the melodies from classic rock standards on an electric guitar, but singing overtop of this just a string of commands..."Let's dance! Get up! Do the slide! Work it!"

It was almost like a painful jazzercize class.

John Mayer came out and opened, he OPENED, people, with "Love Soon." That's my favorite song. Ever. It just is. The reason...well, I guess I have a tendency to relate to it a little too well at times:

"You can cross the line whenever you want to. I'm calling it love soon. Close your mind and waste some time if you have to. I'm calling it love soon."

Now you know. Don't you feel special?

At one point, during "Love Song for No One," I resigned myself to a simple fact. I, too, am tired of being alone. Hurry up and get here.

I don't know if I could possibly recount the amazing events of yesterday, even if you DID want to endure reading them all, so I just won't.

I attempted to eat a giant tobasco flavored Slim Jim, which was so incredibly hot that my eyes were wet like the English Channel. We sang some more. I ate chips to remove the putrid taste of tobasco flavored meat byproduct from my mouth. We stopped at the scariest gas station ever, chock full of the kind of loser townies I want to be when I grow up. We went to the Ho. I enjoy the greasy food.

Anyway.

Yesterday will most certainly be filed under one of the best days in history. Now I must return to my lonely existence of watching other people get married. How impressive am I?

La.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23