fish!
fish!
2003-01-14
2:23 p.m.
What do I have to do to make you love me?

It still amazes me that I could go from such a high to feeling completely miserable last night. Anyone who has been reading this for a while knows that my relationship with my dad is strained at best and volatile at worst.

Immediately after I got my score I wanted to call him. He's the only person in my family who has been to grad school, and therefore the only person who has taken the GRE. Honestly, all I was looking for was maybe some recognition or something. No fireworks, he didn't have to send me a cake. Maybe just, "Hey, Lyss, I'm glad you survived."

His response, actually, was this:

"Is that even a high enough score to get you into graduate school?"

Maybe I was hoping for too much.

In the past year I've learned a lot about relationships. I'm trying to learn to be a good friend. I'm trying to fight fair. When I was growing up, if you got mad at someone, you stayed mad at them, even if, for some reason, they needed you to be there for them. But last night, it became crystal clear to me that when you care about someone, even if you disagree, you drop your differences to be there for them in a time of crisis.

Or even mild frustration.

This is all a bunch of romanticized rambling now, and I apologize.

Long story short: Dad is a jackass. I need to get rid of the need for approval (I'm going on the patch soon), and I need to get some rest or something.

Or stop taking so much NyQuil.

And...scene.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23