fish!
fish!
2003-07-19
11:24 p.m.
Get Over It.

I'm so sorry I have abandoned you all as of late. I headed home to Cinti to celebrate my mother's birthday with Matthew.

But first, I'd like to tell you all a little secret. I'm thoroughly in love with a new d-lander. Ionme is absolutely darling, and considering that the more I talk with her, the more I realize all of the things we have in common (down to the fact that we use the word 'ciao' often), I feel amazing that another person is getting me.

So. My mother, stepfather, gay boyfriend, and myself went to this amazing Korean Barbeque restaurant last night, where you actually cook your own food at the table. Fucking incredible. Dan regaled us all with stories of his drunken, misspent youth, and then my stepsister called to tell us all that she has a new job.

*I am so proud of you, Katie! You're going to be an incredible teacher.*

After this, Matt and I met up with some friends from high school, Tiffany, Gina, and Susan, and we went downtown. It was also Tiff's birthday yesterday, and I hadn't really gotten to see much of her lately, as she's starting her second year of med school at Louisville.

We drank out of fishbowls, did shots, and met complete strangers, and it was amazing. The most incredible part of the evening happened when we got back to Susan's house, where, after Susie and Gina fell asleep, Tiffany and Matt spent about 2 hours telling me what a wonderful person I am. It's not that I don't believe that. I've really come to terms with the person I've become, and I can accept my personality. I'm still dealing with accepting my physical appearance as it is, which is holding me back a bit.

I just can't explain to you all how much it meant to have the person who knew me better than I knew myself for about 15 years, as well as the person who knows me best NOW, tell me that I'm a wonderful person.

Sometimes, you really need to be reminded.

Gina brought a gift card for me as a belated b-day present, and I went shopping. Now I intend to spend what's left of my Saturday in lingerie drinking tea and watching Margaret Cho, Dave Attell, and "If these walls could talk 2."

P.S. Casey comes home tomorrow! I'm super, super excited about that.

Fin.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23