fish!
fish!
2003-11-30
1:51 a.m.
I'm dreaming of a white trash holiday weekend.

Hello, all!

I have just returned to Lexington. Okay, that's not true. I kind of got back around 7, but you wouldn't know that anyway.

Thanksgiving was...special. Actually, I always really look forward to going to visit my mom's family. They've got more religious fervor than the 700 Club, but they're stil fun and sweet. It turns out that one of my cousins, the one I'm convinced is gay, is groing a goatee. Very interesting. Also very red. People with red hair probably should stay away from facial hair.

Another one of my cousins is looking at going to Georgetown College next year, which is right up the street from UK. By street, of course, I mean, I-75. Same thing. I wish I could've gotten a little more info, like how serious she is about going there, but every time I mentioned anything about going away to school, the whole family started crying.

Odd.

Anyway, Friday was spent with my dad's parents, and, poof! The rest of the family, two of whom did NOT speak to me at all. One of them only spoke to me to say, "How many boyfriends do you have now?" I responded with, "None." She said, "Well, why not? What's wrong with you?" I said, "I'm not sure." She then followed with the infamous, "You're not gay, are you?"

Because, were I gay, it would scare away all the boys. Completely scare them away. No, really.

My dad's parents are weird people. As far as they're concerned, they only have 2 grandchildren. In reality, they have 5. They don't care for me, since I'm a screaming liberal who doesn't think that the sun shines out of their asses. None of us have seen and/or heard from the other two, whose father (my uncle, my dad's brother) passed away in 2000 due to cancer. They've basically disowned those cousins. So, they're left with the two kids who were the product of my "oops, we had another child after all of the other kids have moved out, so let's spoil her rotten" aunt, who is roughly 30 or so, and her super awesome "I embezzled 113,000 bucks from the bank where I worked, got thrown in jail, and now I work for Burger King while my wife drives a school bus" husband. These kids are so fucking obnoxious and histrionic, I'd like to throw bricks at them. I've never seen two children over the age of four months cry so much. Really, the kids are 9 and 4. Let's not cry so much, okay? UNO is only a card game.

Was I going anywhere with this?

My mom bought me a coat while I was home. I slept on the couch for three nights with my cat and now my lower back hurts like hell. I'm definitely going to get some painkillers on Monday.

My parents bought a tempur-pedic adjustable bed. Have you seen these things? They shelled out an assload of money, but oh my god, this thing is comfortable. Maybe I'll sell Mary Kay on the side so I can afford a bed like this, too.

This is the lamest entry ever. I'm going to go ahead and blame it on the turkey. When in doubt, go with tryptophan.

Love you all. Gobble, gobble.

Fin.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23