fish!
fish!
2003-12-25
12:42 a.m.
Triple

I'm triple booked for Friday night. How does this happen to me? I have absolutely none, nada, zip, zilch social life, and out of the blue, three very different groups of people expect my presence in three very different places on one very same night.

1. I have to celebrate Christmas with the siblings, since I haven't seen in them, in, oh, you know, years.

2. I was just informed tonight that I'm expected to go visit my grandmother in the hospital, on my dad's side, while we do Christmas there. Is that weird, or is it me?

3. I really, really WANT to go out Friday night and see my high school friends, since I haven't seen any of them in quite a while either.

Decisions...decisions...

We had our Christmas celebration at my grandmother's (mom's mom) house today. I think I was robbed. I got a pair of pajamas that definitely don't fit, a cermaic bear since I evidently LOVE crap that sits around, and some kind of hot plate that melts smelly wax.

I should really be more grateful. There are thousands of kids all over the world who will never HAVE smelly wax.

Last night, I had to decorate the tree, by myself, at my mother's insistance. In protest, I threw ornaments wherever the hell I thought they might go, and listened to Gavin DeGraw, which is most decidedly NOT Christmas music, while I did it.

I was still in a rather foul mood because yesterday, my mom and I went shopping for a formal gown. I'm attending a graduation party on Saturday for my friend Olivia, who decided that we should all get dressed up and call it "Adult Prom" instead, which I think is swell, but I'm sure as hell not wearing something people have already seen.

I have a reputation, you know.

My mom and I have very different tastes when it comes to formal wear. I was thinking along the lines of solid color, sleek, elegant, gorgeous. Evidently, she's thinking along the lines of fur-lined, multi-colored, animal-printed, two piece ensembles with Dorothy Zbornak collars.

Do I look 60 to any of you?

Anyway, that just put me right in a foul mood, where I have remained for today, since my cell phone has decided it only wants to work for roughly 10 minutes before dying, and my dad thinks that spending Christmas with people who don't like me is more important than spending it with my sisters. Who I think kind of like me. At least a little bit.

Well, at least they don't ask me if I'm gay every time they see me.

The only thing that has really turned my mood around is wrapping presents for my parents, which I did in a hilarious manner, signing the cards from "The Kwanzaa fairy," and "Santa and his pet ferret," and having a really interesting heart-to-heart with my mother about sex.

Mom already knows that I've done it, but doesn't know how often, or how many people. I've never really known anything about her sexual history, but you know what? I'm 23, my mom and I are very close, and I think it should be okay if I want to talk to her about it. And I did. And it was special.

That's all for me. I've been dying to get back to one of my gifts from Casey, the QAF novel, "Every Nine Seconds," which I managed to read half of last night while trying to fall asleep.

Damn seasonal excitement.

Merry Christmas, everyone! Share love, and be safe!

Fin.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23