fish!
fish!
2004-02-07
10:54 a.m.
Update o-rama!

I'm one extremely unhappy camper about the fact that I'm awake at this hour on a Saturday. Saturdays are for rest, people.

The reason I'm awake?

Remember the girl who kept showing up at my work? After I kind of lied and told her I had a boyfriend, I didn't hear anything else from her for quite a while. And then she called. This morning.

Those of you who know me well are familiar with the fact that I will not get out of bed to answer the phone for anyone. But it still woke me up. And that pisses me off.

So I went to see both of my doctors yesterday. I was subjected to test after test, as well as much poking and prodding, and I'm happy to report that I'm neither pregnant nor carrying any kind of STD. Not that I was concerned about that, mind you. Anyway, my birth control has been changed, and I'm also now taking welbutrin as well as zoloft. The former is supposedly going to reverse the sexual side effects of the latter. Imagine my joy.

This weekend is Casey's birthday extravaganza, or "Birthday-rama" as we're calling here. We have friends in from Michigan, people flying in from Iowa...what a fiesta. Fortunately, I don't have an assload of homework or anything, although I have yet to purchase a gift for the boy. Oops.

The people who live in the apartment directly below me have this really awesome habit of leaving for the weekend and neglecting to turn off their alarm clock. Thus, I am subjected to two hours of loud beeping at roughly 8 a.m. It might be time for me to leave one of my patented notes on the door. You know, cause I'm passive-aggressive like that.

Dear snow.

Quit it.

Love,

Alyssa

And now, a survey, courtesy of Steve:

1. What would be the best gift someone could give you? The best gift is definitely one that I don't have to ask for. I love receiving things from people that are exactly my taste, but that I never knew I wanted. The worst? Um, crabs.

2. If you had to pick one word that best represented you, what would it be? Unconventional.

3. What things would be involved in your ideal vacation? Any particular place? Relaxation, adventure, alone, with others, etc? I'd really just like to visit a secluded beach, and have the area all to myself, or the people I'm with.

4. What are your 4 favorite meals, in order of preference? Spaghetti with garlic bread, grilled cheese and tomato sandwiches, anything with a side of mashed potatoes, and, um...I dunno. Beef jerky.

5. If you had to be without one of your five senses for the rest of your life, which would you choose? I loathe the fact that this question is on every survey ever written. I refuse to answer on the grounds that it's stupid. Also, I don't know. So there. Nyah.

6. If you could only have a best friend, a lover, or a family member, which would you choose? Sorry to all of my friends out there, but, a family member. My family always comes first.

7. What is your favorite thing to do to pass time? Crossword puzzles and fill-it-ins.

8. Your ideal home: built or bought? I think built, although at this rate, I'll probably not have either. No, extremely high student loan debt, thank you.

9. When you meet [the right person], and you're married, if you had the opportunity to fool around with the object of your lusty thoughts and not be caught, would you? Absolutely not. Believe it or not, when I'm in a relationship with someone, I barely notice anyone else. I'm very focused on that person.

10. What would you want your [partner] to do in the same situation? How would you react to either choice they made? Cheating is one the most basic forms of disrespect, which I absolutely will not tolerate. Not to mention the fact that I'd be putting my own health at risk by continuing to be with that person. I hope that doesn't sound awful, but I know firsthand how devastating adultery can be. Okay, off of soapbox, and moving on...

11. Your partner is throwing a party for you and can have anybody you want be there. Who would be on the guest list? Everyone. As many people as possible. Although...crowds make me nervous, so it would really be special if they could be in a different room and I could go in and out depending on how much socializing I want to do. Hi, crazy, table for one.

12. Most important room in the house? My "house" has a grand total of three rooms - living room, bathroom, bedroom. Of the three, the living room.

13. When you meet the right person do you think you'll know it instantly, or will it be something you discover over time? My hope is that something would spark it initially, although I could never love someone who wasn't also my best friend, so that would have to develop over time.

14. What one thing are you more afraid of than anything else? The Exorcist. No, I'm serious. I mean, sure I could say "fear of failure" or "fear of being alone forever" but seriously. The Exorcist.

15. What is your most secret sexual fantasy? Um, at this point? Geez, having sex once in a while (with someone other than myself) would be a pretty welcome fantasy.

16. Where in the world would be your ideal place to live, in general or specific? Wherever it doesn't snow and/or ice. Preferably some place that also isn't overwrought with tourists and stupid people.

17. Are you pro-surprises or anti? Oh my God, PLEASE surprise me. I love it.

18. What do you think is the best way to resolve an argument? The psychologist in me tells me to confront the person and try to work out a compromise. The woman in me tells me to complain to someone else about the problem.

19. What are 5 sure-fire signs that you're not happy with whatever is going on around you? I don't make eye contact with anyone, starting to nit-pick, irritability, fatigue, and fidgeting.

20. What things totally turn you off in a friendship? Lack of respect, lack of honesty, not wanting to spend time with me. In a relationship? The same, and also, lack of sex.

21. What things totally turn you on in a friendship? Sense of humor, shared interests, compassion, trust, respect, honesty...I think that's it. A relationship? Um...kissing my neck. Hee.

Fin.



My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23