fish!
fish!
2004-02-23
3:18 p.m.
I have returned from snotfest 2004!

I'm finally beginning to recover from the fiesta de mucus going on in my upper respiratory system. You can imagine how happy I am to finally be able to breathe through my nose once again.

This past weekend I attended a baby shower for one of my childhood friends. There were five girls total, two of whom were pregnant, and then we all had our mothers as well. Imagine the fun of numerous complaints of "It's too HOT!" followed by "aww, look at that!" (in response to some goofy outfit)...and then there were the tears. My god, the tears.

I had no idea that women who were pregnant cried so damn much. I've never spent an extended period of time with any, though, so I guess that explains my naivite.

It seems as though it's impossible for me to work, take classes, AND do practicum this summer. However, if I do not stick to my original plan, I won't graduate by December. And that seriously interferes with the overachieving freak that lives quietly inside.

Tonight I must once again head to Cincinnati to see a speaker for one of my classes. Is it me, or is it unfair to mandate that your students completely clear out one whole evening to drive an hour and a half each way to see some special speaker person? Maybe it is me.

I'd really like to have a nap, though. Does anyone want to go in my place?

Oh my God, I've forgotten to talk about Sex and the City! People, this was happiness. On toast, even. Say what you will, Carrie should be with Big. The End. Because that freaking Russian? Erm, anyone who requests that I leave the fucking country, leave my job and my friends, to sit on my ass while HE does HIS job is a nutcase. Seriously.

But these are not real people. So I'm backing away slowly.

I must admit that I'm going to miss the show, though. Damn if all of my shows aren't leaving this year! What the hell am I going to do with myself? Classwork?

No thanks.

Sometimes I don't feel like an adult at all. This weekend was one of those moments. Without going into too much detail, I generally keep very close tabs on my bank account, but since I've come down with Malaria or West Nile or something, I hadn't been paying attention. Well, some things got messed up, one thing led to another...the next thing I knew I was calling my mother to ask for help, as my account was horrifically overdrawn. Long story short, they mercifully waived some of my fees, and I got signed up for overdraft protection.

Sigh...things like this should not happen to a twenty-three year old college graduate. I mean, here I was this weekend, surrounded by people who are becoming adults, either by starting families, having careers, or finishing up medical school. I'm still pretending to be an adult, like I'm playing dress up to fit in with the big kids. I think I should be required to wear a helmet.

Fin.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23