fish!
fish!
2004-04-08
9:18 p.m.
Non PC-ness

Hi!

I promise to take this opportunity to write about something that doesn't involve my urinary system. For once.

I'm a little tired of talking about it, to be honest. Every professor and student in my program knows entirely too much about the workings of my hoo-dilly.

So, in other things non-related, my father called me last night. Have I shared with you all that he's getting married? To a woman whom he's known about 4 months? A woman whose son is a high school ex-boyfriend of mine?

I can't remember. Percocet and all, you know.

So, he called to ask if I'd be his best man. Hi, remember me? 24 years ago, when you signed up to adopt a child, you asked for a GIRL. Guess what? I'm still female.

His reasoning is that he wants me to stand on his side of the altar. Can't I do that without declaring a gender?

He also made me talk to this woman last night. Hi, you don't know me. But you do know a lot about my peeing habits. Neato.

I learned today that it is no longer appropriate to refer to those individuals who are Cherokee, Sioux, Iriquois, etc. as "Native Americans." This is because they were on this land before it was called America. Therefore, we are imposing "Westernized" names to a group of people who never agreed to this label to begin with. Instead, I think we're supposed to call them "First people." Sometimes, I just can't keep up. I try.

See, kids, when you go to class, you learn things.

That is all. I shall update tomorrow, hopefully with a Friday Five or some such.

Fin.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23