fish!
fish!
2004-07-01
12:15 a.m.
Discrimination in the worst way

I'm so bored in the evenings that I've taken to pastry-making.

Tonight, it's brownies. Happy day.

Actually, I don't know if it's so much that I'm bored, but also because I'm highly pre-menstrual, and would really like to get laid here soon. But alas, tis brownies instead. It's been a tough week. The uterus has really been bugging me.

Which is strange, since we haven't heard much from her lately.

Go see Fahrenheit 9/11, people. It's very important. Even if you're conservative (although I sincerely doubt that, with my constant liberal rants and subject matter, I attract much of the kind). You need to see it. I'll wait.

All I can say is that there's the BEST Dubya quote ever at the end of the movie.

"You know, you all have a saying here...well, we have it in Texas, I'm assuming that you have it here in Tennessee.

Fool me once, shame on...

...

shame on me.

...

...

You fool me, you ain't gonna be fooled again."

Diagram that sentence. I dare you.

I recently learned that I haven't had dental coverage in the past year. This should tell you two things:

1. My father and I don't communicate very often on important things.

2. I don't like going to the dentist.

I had a strange experience yesterday during the clinic meeting. Our clinic is run by a woman who is a pioneer in feminist psychology. Among other things, this means that cultural diversity and awareness are crucial, as is being cognizant of your own biases.

So, we had three clients call this past week, needing therapy. Now, I've been rocking out hard core with my ONE CLIENT for well over a month now, and I think I'm fucking due another client. These were all males. One was gay, one was African-American, and the other was British.

You all can guess that I had a raging hard-on to take on the gay client. But, my clinic director gave him to my buddy. This person, by the way, has two clients already, AND is currently involved in a court case with one of his clients. This means that he will go above and beyond his required hours with her alone.

The reason my friend got this person? He, too, was a gay male.

The British guy, whom I also tried to get, was given to our non-traditional student, because HER FUCKING HUSBAND is also British. So. Fucking. What.

The African-American requested a male, so that was out for me, too.

In the weirdest way, I feel like I experienced homo-sexism, sexism, and some semblance of reverse ethnocentrism yesterday.

From a feminist psychologist? There was no discussion of WHY we wanted these clients. Actually, there was no discussion at all. As soon as the cases were read, my director assigned them without a second thought.

I'm speechless.

Plus, had she even asked, or bothered to feign interest, I would've had the opportunity to reveal my own sexual orientation to the group. But no, it's automatically assumed that because A. I'm not dating a woman right now, and B. I don't wave my rainbow flag everywhere I go, that I'm just as straight as they come.

Bastards.

See? I've gone and worked myself up again. So now, the brownies call. And then the vibrator.

Also, I don't particularly care for Macaroni Grill. I could put spaghetti on a plate, sprinkle some cheese on it, and slap it in the oven, so that it crusts to the sides. And it wouldn't be nearly as expensive. Suck on that.

I caught one of my very good friends on a date with a woman who WASN'T his girlfriend while we were at Fahrenheit 9/11. And now, if I call him, he talks to me for like 15 seconds, and then has to go. Weird, huh?

Fin.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23