fish!
fish!
2004-10-23
3:19 a.m.
Dear Heterosexual...I feel like Dear Abby. Maybe it should read "Dear internalized homophobe in denial,"

Wow, I totally missed some really accepting and open-minded person named Heterosexual in the old guestbook. Someone has been listening mindlessly to the president if you ask me.

So, my dear Heterosexual...ACTIVIST judges? The only activism going on here is the fact that there are actually people alive who, because they were either biologically fortunate to be born heterosexual, or have repressed homosexual urges throughout their lives and are practicing some of the most ultimate forms of internalized homophbia, WANT to write discrimination into the constitution.

Although, the whole thing is a non-issue, since it's actually already in the KY constitution. I don't know why it's being promoted so much.

Also. A "sinful union?" The last time I checked, this country does not have a national religion, and in fact, you are NOT to push your religious beliefs onto me. Those words are, actually, not even in the Bible literally. My understanding of Christianity (and yes, I have a strong one, I have studied it probably far more than you have, and with the ability to -gasp!- think for myself!) is that one of the reasons Jesus was sent to earth, and later crucified, was because the Pharisees were trying to follow the talmud, or old Jewish law to the letter. And what did Jesus say? It is more important to love one another than to follow rules. So why on earth do you translate some verses from Leviticus literally (such as that) and others are taken figuratively (unless you actually DO send your women out of the town one week out of the month because they are unclean. Or if you eat ham. Or if you wear clothes that are of a synthetic blend). Do you ever drink? Interestingly enough, most protestants insist that "wine" in the Bible refers only to grape juice. How come THAT'S not translated literally?

If you so heartily disagree with what I have to say, I don't understand why on earth you would even want to look at my diary. Because I am an open-minded, open-hearted liberal.

A gay man is my best friend, and the one person who took care of me when I was in the hospital several months ago.

Is there not enough animosity in the world? Why is it so wrong to celebrate love, in its many forms?

For the record, homosexuality is NOT a choice. If it were, it wouldn't be exhibited by every species in the animal kingdom. It's simply a Darwinian way of controlling the population. Not that I expect that you would believe anything that Darwin says. You probably also believe that the earth was actually created in 7 days. Because that's possible. Also, if you had ever been around someone who had to come out to someone he/she loved, you would understand that no one would intentionally CHOOSE to put themselves and their friends and family through this.

We're not asking the church to sanction marriage. There are churches who still don't recognize interracial marriages. But gays, lesbians, bisexuals, and transgendered people deserve the same rights and priveledges allotted to the likes of you.

As the current vice-president said, "Freedom means freedom for everyone."

And since you're so big on mimicking the president, I'd like to mimic a bumper sticker I saw:

The last time we mixed religion with politics, people got burned at the stake.

It would behoove you to remember that in the future. Why don't you take your bigoted, small-minded ass, and turn on the 700 Club and stop irritating the accepting, loving, and open-hearted people of our society such as myself (in my humble opinion). I'm sure you're late for a bible study or progessive dinner. You know, fellowship.

Fin.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23