fish!
fish!
2005-09-11
2:52 a.m.
My pets have proper titles.

I never update often anymore. Boo on me.

We celebrated our weird, arbitrary anniversary, and it was lovely. Dinner was fabulous, and I had creme brulee for dessert, which is always a sign of a good restaurant. The movie scared the living crap out of me, and then jammed it back in. I watched, er, a third of it. Again, probably one of those movies that's only frightening if you were raised in a household that upheld that kind of thinking - you know...if you are such-and-such kind of person, you will suffer from possession. Gah.

And now to the best part - my gift from Casey was a little kitten. I had a dream that we should get another cat. I love, love, LOVE Mister Bojangles, but I think he'd be better off with a little playmate. So, we are a 2-cat family. The new one is 6 months old, calico and white, and of course, coming from the adoption agency, he's quite underfed. But we're working to change that. His name is Doctor Gonzo. He nuzzles up to us a lot and purrs.

Mister B is still learning to adjust. Sometimes they play with each other, and sometimes he gets really hissy. I know it takes time and all that stuff - I just hope they can get along.

I haven't posted a Friday Five in a while - last week they didn't have one. And this week's in kinda lame. So I'm stealing one that Spike posted recently.

1. What was the first song you remember hearing and enjoying on the radio?
I think it was Erasure's 'Take a Chance on Me.' Yeah, big surprise. I liked the gay when I was a little squirt.

2. If you could only listen to five cds for a year, which five would they be? (Boxed sets can count as one cd).
1) Smashing Pumpkins - The Aeroplane Flies High (boxed set)
2) Green Day - American Idiot
3) The Killers - Hot Fuss
4) This could be cheating, but - this road mix my friend Niki made for me with Billy Joel and Elton John, and for some reason, Escape by Enrique Iglesias 3 times
5) Dane Cook - Harmful if Swallowed

3. What was your favorite year, music-wise?
Probably 1996 - MTV and VH-1 both decided to air 'Tonight, Tonight' many times a day, and I received Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness for my 16th birthday. Also, if I recall, Bush was huge (ha, ha!), and Alanis Morisette was getting lots of airplay.

4. If you could witness one historic musical event through all time, what would you pick and why?
This is generic, but probably the original 1969 Woodstock. I still crack up, and am amazed when I watch the video and someone is actually onstage warning people not to 'take the brown acid.'

5. Do you have a song that never fails to cheer you up?
'Overjoyed' or 'Always' both by Stevie Wonder

I'll post a link to pictures soon, I promise.

Fin.

My apologies and a farewell??? - 2005-10-20
It should be Friday somewhere. - 2005-10-03
It's Friday again! - 2005-10-01
Amendment to previous entry... - 2005-09-26
Longer than I intended. It's to tide you over for another week. - 2005-09-23